Reflection blog 4 – Dr Howard’s Lecture

alessandro-viaro-94370As the term coming closer to an end, the tension is omnipresent. You can see it on our pale faces, you can sense it in the room. I felt like the atmosphere in the room was somehow tense, as we are fast approaching looking for jobs and networking is such an essential part of this.

I had enjoyed Dr Howard’s lecture on Thursday, although I could find myself having to concentrate extra hard. There were several topics that spoke to me in Dr Howard’s lecture.

t4_-1208709889
Dr John B. Howard

Language. Dr Howard was talking about growing up in a bilingual family and how with different language you adopt a whole slightly different personality. I can agree with this wholeheartedly. When I switch to Czech my voice changes significantly, my tone is lower and slower.  Different language create a slightly different persona. And funnily enough, I tend to be more inclined to like and miss everything Czech when in Ireland and vice versa.

Dr Howard spoke how he had to deal with letting significant part of a team go. He spoke with such bitterness, that reminded me that managers take the bitter pill of having to make those decisions, that will have devastating effect on many families. It truly moved me. I think it is very had to completely separate being personal and professional in a workplace. When you are let go, it effects you personally whether you like or not, your ability to create income and affect your sense of self worth. I would like to believe that such decision does affect both the employee and the manager, like it did Dr Howard when he was asked what was his worst management experience. It wasn’t not meeting important deadline, or losing a grant, but affecting large number of families by having to let go of half of his employees.

j0269790005
Evelyn Flanagan, Eugene Roche, John B. Howard, Ursula Byrne

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

